Sept 10 – Our Last Day in Boothbay

After battling with a minor 12V electrical problem, we took a walk around the campground where we've been staying, discovreing it was larger than we were aware and several sites (none with the 50 amp power, cable and sewer we needed) were beautifully situated among an inlet off Boothbay's shoreline.

We also "discovered" some old, rusting farm equipment,

(l to r)  Seed spreader, pulled tiller and hay baler

a one-horse carriage,

and antique Spartanette Tandem travel trailer.  These RV's were manufactured from 1945 to 1962 by the Spartan Aircraft Company … owned by one of the richest man in America at the time, J. Paul Getty

Near the campground's entrance, we ran a cross a sign we'd driven by several times and yet not noticed.

We then decided to return to Boothbay Harbor to walk around and have lunch on the water.  At the recommendation of friends from Phoenix (of all placces), we ate at

We then wandered along the waterfront and among the narrow, one-way streets lined with restaurants, ice cream and fudge shops, jewelry stores, all manner of retail outlets catering to the town's influx of tourists.

an occasional mural,

a marine msueum,

Wood Clamp used by Shipwrights

Old Fog Horn

and interesting architecture.

Unique to Boothbay Harbor is a 1,000 foot-long footbridge across the harbor permitting people easy access to the commercial areas from some of the inns across the water.

 

looking toward the end of the harbor

looking out toward the harbor entrance

In the middle of the bridge is a cottage.

The building was constructed in 1902 by the bridge tender, William Foster. After he sold it in 1912, the bridge house had three more owners until Ethel Fowler bought it in 1926.  She spent summers in it and had an art studio in the front room until 1963.  Marian and David Dash purchased the building and ran boat excursions from it and are credited with starting the Windjammer Days.  Mrs. Dash was the first licensed female boat captain in the State of Maine.  

In 1992, Larz and Nancy Fitts-Neilson bought the bridge house and operated a gift shop in it for several years.  The present owners purchased the building in 2001 and spent their first season refurbishing it for use as a summer cottage. 

Local legend has it that the bridge house was used during prohibition for smuggling rum … there is a trap door in the floor of the kitchen to this day.

This evening, together with Bob and Sue Goodrich,

we went to the Linekin Bay Resort 

for dinner.

The resort sits on a section of the bay which normally provides gorgeous sunsets.  Unortunately, tonight's cloud cover precluded any such vistas.  However, there were some great views.

Low Tide – we've yet to see any high tides

Looking toward Cabbage Island where tourist clam bakes are a regular occurance

 Trawler

Ketch

Lobsterman hauling in one of his traps

Multi-colored ledge in front of the restaurant

We had a great meal and have thoroughly enjoyed finally spending some time these past few days with Sue and Bob!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *