Today, we hoped to see some of the sights of this interesting community.Our first stop was at the 9/11 Flight Crew Memorial.
The 1½ life-size sculpture
on a limestone base on which the names of the flight crews are etched on granite slabs … one of whom, Victor Saracini, lived in the same town as we did in southeastern Pennsylvania and whose daughter worked in the same bakery as Debbie
Flaying high above beside the American and Grapevine flags
is one dedicated to the “Heroes” of the four doomed flights
The Captain stands at the highest point as he is charged with the responsibility of protecting passengers, fellow crew members and the aircraft. The eagles, a symbol of our national freedom, represent both United and American Airlines which lost planes on 9/11
His co-pilot is to his right, as he is located to the right on the pilot in the cockpit. He is alert, his safety manual in his hand, and pointing to the western horizon, the intended destination of all four flights
The back-to-back placement of the flight attendants to the Cockpit Crew represents the teamwork of all flight crews
The male Flight Attendant drapes a blanket around a small child displaying a commitment to passenger care. The young girl with her teddy bear represents the traveling public … the family on vacation, the newlyweds on their honeymoon, the grandmother on her very first flight, the weary businessman and the soldier off to war.
The female Flight Attendant stands with her hand held in the international sign signal for “stop”, shielding her passengers from harm
There a are also small fragments from
Piece of a steel girder from the World Trade Center
Limestone fragment from the impact zone at the Pentagon
Stone from the crash site at Shanksville, Pennsylvania
Nearby, is a memorial to the firemen who lost their lives on 9/11
We next drove the short distance to Grapevine’s Historic District.
Wild mustang grapes growing profusely in this area inspired the name “Grape Vine” for this community.Ambros Foster (1794?-1847) and his wife, Susannah Medlin (1796-1876) were among the first settlers in 1845.From Platte County, Missouri, the Fosters and their daughters and sons-in-law acquired land that became the heart of Grapevine.Within the first year, worship services and school classes were held.
Meanwhile, a cabin of hand-hewn logs was built along a creek near the adjacent pioneer community of Dove.It originally stood on a “headright” settled in 1845 by Francis Throop, a colonist also from Missouri.J.C. Wiley purchased the property in 1868 and then sold it to John R. Torian (1836-1909) a farmer from Kentucky in 1886.Torian family members occupied the structure until the 1940s.It was moved four miles to the Grapevine Historic District in 1976.
Cattle raising was the major enterprise prior to the Civil War.Beef cattle were sold to Camp Worth (presently Fort Worth) by Archibald Leonard, Foster’s son-in-law who owned a mercantile store.In 1858 a federal post office was established and run by Solon Dunn.During the 1870s, the village was also known as “Dunnville”.By 1890, the town’s population reached 800.
The settlement made continued gains early in the 20th century, and on January 12, 1914, the post office altered the town’s name to one word, Grapevine.
After the Cotton Belt Railroad line opened in 1888, the town thrived as a shipping center for cotton, grain, truck crops and dairy products.In 1907, Grapevine incorporated.By 1934 two major paved roads leading to Dallas and Fort Worth were constructed.A dam built in 1952 on Denton Creek formed Lake Grapevine.It serves as a water supply, flood control measure and a recreational area. In 1974 the Dallas-Fort Worth (DFW) airport opened within the city limits.
On Easter Sunday, April 1, 1934, Henry Methvin, an associate of Bonnie Parker and Clyde Barrow, killed two police officers, E.B. Wheeler and H.D. Murphy, during an altercation near Grapevine. A historical marker remains at the intersection of Dove Road and State Highway 114.Further, a motorcycle policeman shot by Bonnie and Clyde is buried in a cemetery less than ¼ mile from our campground.Other points of historical interest nearby include several cabins near Grapevine Lake previously owned by Jack Ruby, the man convicted in the murder of presidential assassin Lee Harvey Oswald.
Grapevine is known as the Christmas Capital of Texas … and we found some of their decorations still standing.
After easily finding an unmetered parking space right on the “main drag”, we began our walking tour of the town’s Historic District.And, while some 60-plus buildings and statues are listed, those we found most interesting from an historically and/or architecturally included:
First is the City Hall
The “Nightwatchman” atop City Hall
Grapevine Visitor’s Bureau
Normally, two robotic “gunfighters” (Nat Barrett and Willy Majors, both down-on-their-luck cowboys and wannabe train robbers) appear at the doors below the clock for a shootout. Unfortunately, today’s event was cancelled due to high winds
Weather vane atop the steeple
Safety Tower #16
This building was put in service in 1903 and was manned by a “crossing guard” who oversaw two intersecting railroad lines, dictating which had the right-of-way and which had to stop
Grapevine Village Railroad
Still operates for tourist trips and events – This train repair barn was closed but, as with so many other sights we’ve wanted to see, we were invited in.
Coming Home Statue
The Arch bears symbols of the military branches of the service and faiths. The faces of the seashells on the arch represent soldiers’ experiences in exotic lands. A watch without a face depicts how time can stand still when a loved and is far from home
A soldier embracing his lover after returning home
Cotton Belt Railroad Depot
The 1888 Grapevine Cotton Belt Railroad was originally owned and operated by the St. Louis Southwestern Railway (also known as the Cotton Belt Route) until 1972 when it was closed
The three skaters portrayed were designed from photographs of three children (Mary Virginia, J.E. and Dorothy Bess) who grew up during the 1920s and 1930s and lived all of their lives in Grapevine … as well as a pet dog that used to run free during those times. Note the old fashion skates which required a skate key to tighten them on to the children’s soles. Also, no one in those days thought of wearing pads or helmets.
After really great sandwich at Weinberger’s Delicatessen … which also had a great sign on the wall
You’ve got to love the politically incorrect Southwest
we continued our walking tour of Grapevine’s Historic District.
J. E. Foust & Son Funeral Home
The 1870 structure was renovated into a funeral home in 1945.Outside is an enclosed exhibit.
We next passed one of the most unusual three-wheeled motorcycles we’ve seen.
We next passed two large building murals.
Recognizing famous Americans who have been Masons
Depicting the history of Grapevine
In 1940, seats cost as little as 10 cents and 5 cents for children. It was also the home to Grapevine’s Grand Old Opry.
A former mercantile store, it was renovated in the 1930s and a then-modern Spanish stucco Mediterranean design was added
The Grapevine Sun Building
Benjamin Wall (1876-1955) started the Grapevine Sun in 1895 at the age of 19. It was sold two years later to James Keeling whose son took over the as Editor in 1912 with the help of his wife … followed by their daughter who ran the paper until her death in 1976
Grapevine National Bank
Opened in 1900, the Grapevine National Bank operated until closed in 1918 when reestablished as the Grapevine Home Bank. In 1932, two friends of Bonnie and Clyde held up the bank at gunpoint and locked the bank officials in the vault. Both were caught shortly thereafter and the money recovered.
Grapevine Dairy Producers Building
In 1845, when settlers came to Texas, most families brought at least one cow with them. As towns grew, a market for milk and milk products developed and farmers started selling milk to people who lived in their community. The ground floor provides vehicular access, flanked by two pedestrian portals. A stone base supports the milk-washed brick. Corbelled brick supports the brick railing of the terrace overlook the second floor has four-over one windows and wood doors with cast stone spandrels above the windows and projecting brick pilasters.
From 1844 to 1970 Grapevine truck farmers grew tomatoes, cantaloupes, watermelons, squash and cucumbers while Grape Vine farmers grew cotton, wheat, oats, milo and peanuts. Locally grown produce was sold in this building and taken to markets as far away as Oklahoma City and Joplin, Missouri. The base of the building features granite and “iron spot” brick which blends color from purple to black. The building has metal store front windows with a sign band and recessed vestibule with leaded glass transoms. The projecting cast stone pediment tops the wall area containing five wood windows with stained glass fabled transoms separated by a cast stone band. Above the windows and under the pediment is a band of grapevine has relieve of cast stone. The circular turret features the running band pattern base with the case stone sill. Tall, narrow wood windows are topped with cast stone arched transoms separated by a cast stone band. Above the windows and under the pediment is a band of grapevine bas relief of cast stone.
The Land Patent Office (left) and Dunn Mercantile Building (right)
Land Patent Office – The building, with its smooth plaster and painted exterior, features Victorian and Italianate influences in keeping with the architecture that would have been found in the business districts of early Texas. Of note are the eyebrow window lintels, wood storefront with transom windows, distinctive wrought iron railing and a gilded eagle in the lunette above the second floor. The zinc cornice with repeating brackets features pine cones, wreaths and shell ornaments. Dunn Mercantile Building – The 25½’x 75’ building’s early Victorian-style clapboard façade with wood windows and transoms reflects the materials Grapevine’s first Main Street storefronts. The vertical wrought iron railing and two pair of two-over one windows on the second floor lead one’s eyes upward to a band of dentil ornamental molding and cornice embellished with ornamental medallions, shells and teardrop finials
With spoons and a large bolt in the center
In June 1909, the Grapevine Town Council voted unanimously to build the community’s first “calaboose … or town jail. The 8’ x 10’ x 8’ concrete
The Wallis Hotel
A 1991 replica of the originally Wallis Hotel built in 1891. Designed to cater to traveling businessmen, it had a separate entrance for women and children to “shield them from the “rougher aspects of the 19th century”. Unfortunately, the hotel was never economically viable and closed in 1926
The “Sidewalk Judge”
Seated on a bench in front of the Wallis Hotel, the figure is not intended to be a real judge but, rather, a person exercising his powers of observation, sizing up the town’s folk
“Walking to Texas”
This statue honors the settlers who walked to Texas along side their wagons as they sought prosperity and a better life for themselves and their children
Benjamin R. Wall
A four-term mayor of Grapevine
Grapevine’s Liberty Bell
Dedicated on September 17, 1999, the 212th anniversary of the U.S. Constitution
A functioning windmill on a city common
After running some errands we returned to our campground and then decided to take a drive around the cove and marina we can see from our motorhome.Frankly, we’re amazed at the number of sail boats, some over 30’, moored in the marina.
At the same time, the wind was howling …
over 40 MPH according to the local television weather reports … so hard, in fact, that some of the boats were heeling over in their slips.
From the pier, we were treated by several varieties of ducks
and across the water, we could see both our motor home and an American flight on final approach into DFW Airport.
This evening, we were treated with a beautiful sunset through the park’s trees.